اختر صفحة
تتعاون شركة العبيكان وشركة إس آي جي كومبيبلوك مع عملائنا للتفكير بشكل إبداعي.

تتعاون شركة العبيكان وشركة إس آي جي كومبيبلوك مع عملائنا للتفكير بشكل إبداعي.

حيث تتعاون شركة العبيكان وإس آي جي كومبيبلوك مع عملائنا للتفكير بشكل إبداعي – حتى بشكل ثوري- حول صناعة الأغذية والمشروبات. حيث تتحول الأفكار إلى منتجات وحلول التغليف من الجيل التالي التي تستجيب لطلبات المستهلكين المتسارعة للحصول على نضارة وراحة وإمكانية التتبع والاستدامة. حيث يمكن لعملائنا اكتساب ممارسات وتقنيات إنتاج جديدة تعزز استجابة المستهلك والأداء التشغيلي، مما يؤدي إلى اكتساب ميزة تنافسية حيث يمكن صقل أفكار المنتجات الواعدة لعملائنا وتحويلها إلى مفاهيم نهائية واختبارها ميدانيًا بشكل أسرع من أي وقت مضى.

مجموعة زكي تطلق الحليب المنكه المنتج محليًا في عبوة كرتونية كومبيبلوك سليملاين من انتاج “اس أي جي” كومبيبلوك العبيكان في العراق

مجموعة زكي تطلق الحليب المنكه المنتج محليًا في عبوة كرتونية كومبيبلوك سليملاين من انتاج “اس أي جي” كومبيبلوك العبيكان في العراق

(دبي، 3 يونيو 2020) أطلقت شركة “اس أي جي كومبيبلوك العبيكان”، إحدى الشركات العالمية الرائدة في مجال توفير الأنظمة والحلول لآلات التعبئة والتغليف المعقمة للأغذية والمشروبات، ومجموعة زكي، إحدى الشركات الرائدة في مجال منتجات الألبان والمشروبات الغذائية في العراق، مجموعة جديدة من الحليب المُنكه بما في ذلك الشوكولاتة والموز والفراولة والكراميل وأنواع الحليب الطازج تحت علامتهم التجارية ” يومي أبطالنا ” في عبوات كرتونية كومبيبلوك سليملاين بسعة 150 مل من انتاج شركة “اس أي جي”. وتعد المنتجات الجديدة أول منتج للحليب المعقم يتم إنتاجه محليًا في العراق وستكون أول مجموعة من الحليب المنكه المطروح في السوق.

وقال بهاء زيدان، المدير العام لمجموعة زكي: “نحن نركز باستمرار على البحث والتطوير لتمييز أنفسنا ولتمكيننا من تقديم منتجات جديدة بناءً على المنتجات التي بفضلها المستهلك وتلبية لطلباته. ويعتبر حليب ” يومي أبطالنا ” المُنكه وجبة خفيفة مريحة تأتي مع بفئات متنوعة. نحن نهدف من خلال هذا المنتج إلى الاستجابة للاتجاه السائد في استهلاك الحليب خارج المنزل أثناء الانتقال والذي يناسب المستهلكين من مختلف الفئات العمرية. وبفضل الدعم الذ توفره شركة “اس أي جي كومبيبلوك العبيكان” طوال عملية الإنتاج، تم طرح المنتج المبتكر الآن في السوق. “

قال عبد الغني الأديب، الرئيس التنفيذي للعمليات لشركة “اس أي جي كومبيبلوك العبيكان”: “ تعتبر الألبان من فئة المنتجات المتأصلة في التقاليد العراقية ويتمتع بها المستهلكون بشكل كبير. فهو مشروب عائلي ممتاز ليس فقط للأطفال ولكن لجميع العمرية ، حيث أنهم يبحثون عن الحليب المُنكه الذي يتميز بأنه ليس فقط مغذي وصحي ولكنه يمتلك أيضًا مذاقًا رائعًا. أنا واثق من أن إطلاق هذا المنتج سيكون له إمكانات كبيرة في السوق العراقية وسينال أعجاب جميع المستهلكين “.

إس آي جي تطلق أول أداء متكامل للأصول وحلول إدارة الخدمة الميدانية

إس آي جي تطلق أول أداء متكامل للأصول وحلول إدارة الخدمة الميدانية

إس آي جي تطلق أول أداء متكامل للأصول وحلول إدارة الخدمة الميدانية

ومن المقرر أن تقدم إس آي جي أول حل رقمي متكامل لإدارة أداء الأصول وإدارة الخدمات الميدانية لصناعة الأغذية والمشروبات. تم تطوير إدارة أصول المصنع 360 بالشراكة مع جنرال إلكتريك ديجيتال، وسيضم مجموعة من الخدمات الرقمية عند الطلب المصممة لمساعدة الشركات المصنعة على الوصول إلى مستويات جديدة من الكفاءة والإنتاجية والاتصال في عملياتهم

يتم تطوير إس آي جي لإدارة أصول المصنع 360 مع جنرال إلكتريك ديجيتال استجابةً للطلبات المتزايدة في صناعة الأغذية والمشروبات، وخاصة الحاجة إلى زيادة الإنتاجية والجودة ووقت التشغيل. من خلال هذا الحل المبتكر والمتكامل المكون من برنامجي إدارة أداة الأصول وسيرفرس ماكس من جنرال إلكتريك ديجيتال، ستقدم إس آي جي أحدث الأدوات الرقمية لمساعدة عملائها على زيادة الإنتاج وتقليل وقت التوقف عن العمل وضمان جودة أكبر لتلبية احتياجات المستهلكين المتغيرة باستمرار.

وقال ديفيد أوفاديا، مدير تسويق المنتجات في جنرال إلكتريك ديجيتال: “تستفيد شركات تصنيع المعدات مثل إس آي جي بشكل متزايد من حلول الإنترنت الصناعي للأشياء لتمييز نفسها من خلال خدمة ما بعد البيع المتفوقة. “إن إدارة أداء الأصول من جنرال إلكتريك الرقمية وبرنامج إدارة الخدمات الميدانية من سيرفس ماكس يساعدان الشركات مصنعي المعدات الأصلية على ضمان أداء قاعدة المعدات المثبتة الخاصة بها على النحو الأمثل، كما تتم إدارة موارد الخدمة الميدانية الخاصة بها بكفاءة. يسمح الحل المتكامل لدينا في إس آي جي باكتشاف وتصحيح مشكلات المعدات المحتملة مقدمًا، قبل أن تؤدي إلى تعطل العميل غير المخطط له، وإسعاد العملاء النهائيين من خلال تحسين مجمل المعدات الفعالة والسعي لتحسين درجات توصية العملاء بمنتجات شركةـ إس آي جي “.

حل نموذجي للصيانة

يعتبر إدارة أصول المصنع 360 حلاً معيارياً مصممًا لتحسين موثوقية ومدى توافر خط التعبئة مع تقليل التكاليف. تتيح وحدة الموصلات جمع البيانات الرقمية، والتي يتم تحميلها في سحابة بريديكس – منصة جنرال إليكتريك ديجيتال السحابية. من هنا، يمكن استرداد البيانات وتقييمها في أي وقت من فريق هندسة الموثوقية في إس آي جي. يمكن أيضًا استخدام هذه الوحدة في حلول المصانع الذكية الأخرى من إس آي جي، وهي وحدة تحكم المصنع 360، والتي تمكن الشركات المصنعة من مراقبة كل زاوية من عمليات مصنع التعبئة والتحكم فيها وتحسينها.

تعتمد وحدة الصيانة الذكية على عملية شاملة مدعومة بالبرامج تسمى تحليلات بيانات الصيانة والأصول بالإضافة إلى قمرة القيادة لإدارة الأصول. ويضمن ذلك أن يكون لدى العملاء مصدر بيانات واحد لكافة الأنشطة المتعلقة بالصيانة. وتسمى الوحدة الثالثة الأداء الذكي وتستند إلى مراقبة صحة الأصول وتحليلات بيانات الأصول التنبؤية، والتي ستوفر منصة مثالية للصيانة التنبؤية في المستقبل.

تحسين الأصول في كل مرحلة

وستمكن الوحدات الثلاث معا من زيادة موثوقية الأصول وتوافرها. يضمن الحل وجود رابط مباشر بين تنبيهات الصيانة المستندة إلى الظروف وتنبيهات الصيانة التنبؤية في إدارة أداء الأصول والعمل الذي يتم جدولته لمهندسي الخدمة الميدانية في إدارة الخدمات الميدانية. ويساعد ذلك على ترجمة التنبيهات إلى إجراءات فعالة على أرض الواقع ويضمن تلقي فرق الخدمة الميدانية أكبر قدر ممكن من الإشعارات المسبقة بشأن مشكلة ما، والتي يمكنها معالجتها قبل أن تؤثر على عمليات العميل. فعلى سبيل المثال، لن يتم استبدال الأجزاء المستهلكة المحددة في فترات الصيانة الثابتة. بدلاً من ذلك، سيتم استبدالها فقط عندما تشير البيانات إلى درجة معينة من التآكل.

وقال كلاوس أندريسن، نائب الرئيس الأول للتكنولوجيا العالمية في إس آي جي: “مع إدارة أصول المصنع 360، يمكن أن تنعكس أي تغييرات في استراتيجيات المعدات – على سبيل المثال، تغيير فترات الخدمة أو خطوات الصيانة – بسرعة في عمل إدارة الخدمات الميدانية الجديد. “هذا يحسن كفاءة وفعالية عملية الصيانة الشاملة في إس آي جي. البيانات التي يلتقطها عمال الخدمة الميدانية متاحة على الفور لتحليلها من قبل إدارة أداء الأصول وفريق هندسة الموثوقية العالمي في إس آي جي، مما يسمح لنا باكتشاف المشكلات الناشئة بشكل أفضل وأسرع وإطلاق خطوات وقائية “.

تم إطلاق إس آي جي إدارة أصول المصنع 360 لأول مرة في الشرق الأوسط مع شركة المراعي، أحد أكبر منتجي الأغذية والمشروبات في المملكة العربية السعودية، كبداية طرح عالمي.

قال روبرت روس، مدير التصنيع لمنتجات الألبان والعصير في المراعي: “تعتبر الحلول الرقمية حيوية بالنسبة لنا لتحليل ما يحدث بالضبط في مصنعنا والمضي قدمًا في الإنتاج بشكل موثوق. ستساعدنا الشراكة الطموحة بين جنرال الكتريك و إس آي جي بشكل كبير في تحليل الأسباب الجذرية وفي تقديم إجابات صحيحة. وهذا سيضمن إنتاج موثوق به وتحسين مجمل المعدات الفعالة لدينا. ونحن فخورون جداً بأن نكون من أوائل المتبنين لهذا الحل المتطور”.

يعتبر إدارة أصول المصنع 360 أحد الحلول العديدة ذات القيمة المضافة ضمن قطاع إس آي جي المصانع الذكية، والذي تم تصميمه لمساعدة الشركات المصنعة على مواجهة التحدي المتمثل في زيادة الإنتاج وخفض التكاليف في بيئة اليوم التنافسية. تهدف منصة المصنع الذكي التي تعتمد على الحلول إلى تقديم أنظمة وخدمات تقنية والتي تحول مصانع التعبئة إلى مصانع متصلة توفر أعلى كفاءة ومرونة وجودة.

أطلقت إس آي جي أول أنبوب ورقي في العالم على شكل حرف U لعبوات الكرتون المعقمة

أطلقت إس آي جي أول أنبوب ورقي في العالم على شكل حرف U لعبوات الكرتون المعقمة

إس آي جي هي الأولى في الصناعة التي تقدم أنبوبا ورقيًا على شكل حرف U لاستخدامه في عبوات الكرتون. بعد تقديم أول أنبوب ورقي على التوالي في العالم لتعبئة الكرتون في فبراير 2019، تطلق إس آي جي أول أنبوب ورقي على شكل U في العالم خلال شركة جلفود للتصنيع، جنبا إلى جنب مع شريكها في المشروع المشترك إس آي جي كومبيبلوك العبيكان. جلفود للتصنيع هو أكبر معرض تجاري سنوي لتكنولوجيا الأغذية والمشروبات في العالم. الأنبوبة الورقية الجديدة تستخدم ورقًا معتمدًا من مجلس رعاية الغابات FSC™ وهي متوفرة الآن عالميًا.

قال ماركوس بوهم، الرئيس التنفيذي للسوق في إس آي جي: “إن مجموعة إس آي جي عازمة على التعاون مع العملاء والموردين وأصحاب المصلحة الآخرين لإيجاد نهج جديد للحد من استخدام البلاستيك، وتعزيز إعادة التدوير وتقليل النفايات. كوننا أول من يقدم أنبوبا ورقيًا لعلب الكرتون المعقمة في هذه الصناعة يعد معلمًا مهمًا بالنسبة لنا في تلك الرحلة “.

ويدعم الحل الجديد للأنبوب الورقي جهود إس آي جي لاستخدام المزيد من المواد المتجددة. الورق المستخدم لإنتاج الأنبوب الورقي المستقيم والأنبوب الورقي الجديد على شكل حرف U – المتوفر بقطر 4 و 6 مم – ينشأ من الغابات المعتمدة من FSCTM والمصادر الأخرى الخاضعة للرقابة. تم أيضًا إعادة تصميم غلاف الأنبوب ليظل متصلًا بالعبوة لمنع تناثر القمامة ويمكن إعادة تدويره باستخدام عبوة الكرتون.

قال عبد الغني الأديب، الرئيس التنفيذي للعمليات في إس آي جي كومبيبلوك العبيكان: “نحن متحمسون لإطلاق الأنبوب الورقي على شكل حرف U خلال جلفود للتصنيع. يقدم المعرض منصة مثالية لمشاركة أحدث ابتكاراتنا. نظرًا لكون التلوث البلاستيكي مصدر قلق كبير للشركات والمستهلكين في جميع أنحاء العالم، فإن صناعة الأغذية والمشروبات تتعرض لضغوط لتقديم بديل قابل للتطبيق ومستدام. عبوات الكرتون هي مستدامة بطبيعتها. عبوات الكرتون لدينا تتكون من 70-80% ورق مقوى. مع إدخال أول أنبوب مستقيم وأول انبوب ورقي على شكل U لعبوات الكرتون المعقمة، فإن إس آي جي تحقق الريادة مرة أخرى في هذه الصناعة”.

إس آي جي كومبيبلوك العبيكان وفير كيب دايريس تطلقان أول كومبيبلوك إيكوبلس في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا

إس آي جي كومبيبلوك العبيكان وفير كيب دايريس تطلقان أول كومبيبلوك إيكوبلس في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا

(دبي، 29 أكتوبر 2019)

أعلنت شركة إس آي جي كومبيبلوك العبيكان (إس آي جي CBOB)، إحدى الشركات الرائدة عالميًا في توفير الأنظمة والحلول لآلات التعبئة والتغليف المعقمة للأغذية والمشروبات، وشركة فير كيب دايريس، وهي مزرعة ألبان مقرها كيب تاون، عن إطلاق أول كومبيبلوك إيكوبلس في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا خلال معرض جلفود للتصنيع. سيتم إطلاق العبوة مدعومة بحملة رمز الاستجابة السريعة التي تمنح المستهلكين الفرصة للفوز بقسائم البيع بالتجزئة أسبوعيًا والحصول على مزايا الترويج.

كومبيبلوك إيكوبلس من إس آي جي كومبيبلوك تقلل نواتج ثاني أكسيد الكربن بنسبة 28% [1] بالمقارنة مع عبوة كرتونية تقليدية سعة 1 لتر من نفس الشكل نظرًا للهيكل المبتكر والفريد لكراتين الألبان المعقمة. المكون الرئيسي لـكومبيبلوك إيكوبلس، بنسبة تزيد عن 80 في المائة، هو الورق المقوى، وهو مصنوع من مواد خام بيولوجية يتم الحصول عليها من الغابات المستدامة المعتمدة والمدارة من مجلس رعاية الغابات FSC™ والمصادر الأخرى الخاضعة للرقابة.

وقال عبد الغني الاديب، الرئيس التنفيذي للعمليات في شركة إس آي جي كومبيبلوك: “مع إطلاق أول كومبيبلوك إيكوبلس في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا، فير كيب دايريس تتخذ موقفا مساندا للبيئة، وتقود الطريق في السوق الأفريقية كونها شركة تعمل بشكل مستدام ومسؤول. اليوم، تعد المواطنة البيئية لجنوب إفريقيا أولوية قصوى مدفوعة بالطلب المتزايد على الشفافية وأهمية استدامة الكوكب. يعد إطلاق عبوة الكرتون كومبيبلوك إيكوبلس ذات انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون المنخفضة، استجابة جيدة لهذا الطلب المتزايد. ونحن على ثقة من أننا ملتزمون مع شركائنا بحماية البيئة وتعزيز الاستدامة في جميع أنحاء العالم”.

وفقا للويس لوبسر، مدير التسويق في فير كيب دايريس : “إن “فير كيب دايريس” تتبنى مفهوم الرفاه البيئي. نحن في الشركة، اتخذنا نهجا متكاملا لإدارة الكربون، ونحن نسعى دائما إلى اتباع نهج أكثر اخضرارا وأكثر ملاءمة للبيئة لإنتاج الحليب. مع إطلاق فير كيب لعبوة الكرتون كومبيبلوك إيكوبلس طويلة المدى مع شريكنا، إس آي جي كومبيبلوك العبيكان، فنحن نزيد من هذا الالتزام ونحن نبدأ في تقديم الحليب طويل المدى المنتج بشكل أكثر استدامة. إن التركيز على العمل بشكل مستدام، ومحاولة إيجاد طرق جديدة لـ”فعل الشيء الصحيح” هو جزء أساسي من مبادئنا المؤسسية.”

[1] مقارنة بنفس العبوة القياسية 1 لتر من إس آي جي. تخفيض ثاني أكسيد الكربون على أساس دورة حياة المنتج من إنتاج المواد الخام إلى عبوة الكرتون النهائية وفقًا لتقييم دورة حياة ifeu CB-100730 بتاريخ 30 يوليو 2010. مزيد من المعلومات: https://www.sig.biz/en/packaging/beverage-packaging/combibloc-ecoplus-details.

Obeikan and SIG Combibloc collaborate with our customers to think creatively.

Obeikan and SIG Combibloc collaborate with our customers to think creatively.

Where Obeikan and SIG Combibloc collaborate with our customers to think creatively—even disruptively—about the food and beverage industry. Where brainstorms turn into next-generation products and packaging that respond to accelerating consumer demands for freshness, convenience, traceability and sustainability. Where our customers can acquire new production practices and technologies that enhance their consumer responsiveness and operational performance, carving out a competitive edge Where our customers’ promising product ideas can be polished into final concepts and field-tested faster than ever before. 

Zaki Group launches locally produced Flavored Milk in SIG Combibloc Obeikan’s combiblocXSlim carton pack in Iraq

Zaki Group launches locally produced Flavored Milk in SIG Combibloc Obeikan’s combiblocXSlim carton pack in Iraq

(Dubai, 3 June 2020) SIG Combibloc Obeikan, one of the world’s leading systems and solutions provider for aseptic packaging and filling machines for food and beverages, and Zaki Group, one of the leading food dairy and beverage companies in the Iraq, launch a new range of flavoured milk including chocolate, banana, strawberry, caramel and fresh milk varieties under their brand ‘YOMME Abtalona” in SIG’s combiblocXSlim 150ml carton packs. The new products are the first aseptic milk locally produced in Iraq and will be the first range of a growing portfolio of flavoured milk released in the market.

Bahaa Zeidan, General Manager, Zaki Group, said: “We constantly focus on research and development to distinguish ourselves and to enable us to introduce new products based on consumer preferences and demand. “YOMME Abtalona” flavoured milk is a convenient snack that comes with a differentiated proposition. With this, we aim to respond to the trend in consuming out of home, on-the-go milk for consumers from different age groups. With the support from SIG Combibloc Obeikan throughout the whole process, the product innovation is now in the market.”

Abdelghany Eladib, Chief Operating Officer, SIG Combibloc Obeikan, said: “Dairy is a category, which is firmly rooted in Iraqi tradition and enjoyed greatly by consumers. It is a premium family drink not only for kids but for every age group looking for such flavoured milk which is not only nutritious and healthy but also offers a great taste. I am confident that this launch will have a great potential in the Iraqi market and with a variety of consumers.”

SIG launches first-ever integrated asset performance and field service management solution

SIG launches first-ever integrated asset performance and field service management solution

SIG is set to deliver the first integrated APM (asset performance management) and FSM (field service management) digital solution for the food and beverage industry. Developed in partnership with GE Digital, the Plant 360 Asset Management will feature a range of on-demand digital services designed to help manufacturers reach new levels of efficiency, productivity and connectivity in their operations.

SIG Plant 360 Asset Management is being co-developed with GE Digital in response to increasing demands in the food and beverage industry, particularly the need for higher productivity, quality and uptime. With this innovative and integrated solution comprised of GE Digital’s APM and ServiceMax’s FSM software, SIG will offer state-of-the-art digital tools to help its customers boost production, reduce downtime and ensure even greater quality to meet ever-changing consumer needs.

“Equipment manufacturers like SIG are increasingly leveraging Industrial Internet of Things solutions to differentiate themselves through superior after-sales service,” said David Ovadia, Product Marketing Director for GE Digital. “GE Digital’s Asset Performance Management and ServiceMax’s Field Service Management software help OEMs ensure their installed base of equipment is performing optimally, and their field service resources are managed efficiently. Our integrated solution allows SIG to detect and correct potential equipment issues in advance, before they result in unplanned customer downtime, delighting end-customers through improved OEE and driving improved NPS scores for SIG.”

A modular solution for maintenance

Plant 360 Asset Management is a modular solution designed to improve filling line reliability and availability while reducing costs. The Connector module enables the collection of digital data, which is loaded into the Predix Cloud – GE Digital’s cloud platform. From here, the data can be retrieved and evaluated at any time by SIG’s reliability engineering team. This module can also be used for SIG’s other Smart Factory solution, Plant 360 Controller, which enables manufacturers to monitor, control and optimise every angle of their filling plant operations.

 The Smart Maintenance module is based on a software-supported holistic process called Maintenance & Asset Data Analytics as well as an Asset Management Cockpit. This ensures customers have one data source for all maintenance-related activities. The third module is called Smart Performance and is based on Asset Health Monitoring and Predictive Asset Data Analytics, which will provide an optimal platform for predictive maintenance in the future.

Optimising assets at every stage

Together, the three modules will enable higher asset reliability and availability. The solution ensures a direct link between condition-based and predictive maintenance alerts in APM and the work being scheduled for field-service engineers in FSM. This helps translate alerts into efficient action on the ground and ensures field service teams receive as much advance notice as possible of an issue, which they can address before it impacts a customer’s operations. For example, defined wearing parts will no longer be replaced at fixed maintenance intervals. Instead, they will only be replaced when the data indicates a certain degree of wear.

 

“With Plant 360 Asset Management, any changes to equipment strategies – for example, changing service intervals or maintenance steps – can be quickly reflected in new FSM work,” said Klaus Andresen, Senior Vice President Global Technology at SIG. “This improves the efficiency and effectiveness of the overall SIG maintenance process. Data captured by field-service workers is immediately available for analysis by APM and the global SIG reliability engineering team, allowing us to better and more quickly detect emerging issues and trigger preventative steps.”

SIG Plant 360 Asset Management is being launched for the first time in the Middle East with Almarai, one of Saudi Arabia’s largest food and beverage producers, as start of the global rollout.

Robert Ross, Manufacturing Manager Dairy and Juice at Almarai: “Digital Solutions are vital for us to analyse exactly what is happening in our plant and going forward to produce reliably. The aspirational partnership with SIG & GE will greatly help us in root cause analysis and in providing valid answers. This will ensure reliable production and to improve our OEE. We are very proud to be an early adopter of this cutting-edge solution.”

 Plant 360 Asset Management is one of several value-added solutions within SIG’s Smart Factory segment, which is designed to help manufacturers meet the challenge of increasing output and driving down costs in today’s competitive environment. The solution-driven Smart Factory platform aims to deliver IoT-enabled systems and technical services that transform filling plants into connected factories that offer the highest efficiency, flexibility and quality.

SIG launches the world’s first U-shaped paper straw for aseptic carton packs

SIG launches the world’s first U-shaped paper straw for aseptic carton packs

SIG is the first in the industry to offer a U-shaped paper straw to be used on carton packages. After introducing the world’s first straight paper straw for carton packaging in February 2019, SIG launches the world’s first U-shaped paper straw during Gulfood Manufacturing, together with its joint venture partner SIG Combibloc Obeikan. Gulfood Manufacturing is the world’s largest annual food and beverage technology trade exhibition. The new straw uses FSC™ certified paper and is now available globally.

Markus Boehm, Chief Market Officer at SIG: “SIG is determined to collaborate with customers, suppliers and other stakeholders to find new approaches to reduce single-use plastics, foster recycling and minimise waste. Being the first in the industry to offer paper straws for aseptic carton packs is an important milestone for us on that journey.”

The new paper straw solution supports SIG’s efforts to use more renewable materials. The paper used to produce the straight paper straw and the new U-shaped paper-straws – available with 4 and 6 mm diameter – originates from FSCTM-certified forests and other controlled sources. The wrapper for the straw has also been redesigned to remain attached to the package preventing littering and can be recycled with the carton pack.

Abdelghany Eladib, Chief Operating Officer, SIG Combibloc Obeikan: “We are excited to launch the U-shaped paper straw during Gulfood Manufacturing. The exhibition offers an ideal platform to share our latest innovations. With plastic pollution being a major concern for businesses and consumers around the world, the food and beverage industry is under pressure to offer a viable and sustainable alternative. Carton packs are sustainable by nature. Our carton packs consist of 70-80% paperboard. With the introduction of the first straight and the first U-shape paper straws for aseptic carton packs, SIG is once again leading the way in the industry.”

SIG Combibloc Obeikan and Fair Cape Dairies launch the first combibloc EcoPlus in the MEA region

SIG Combibloc Obeikan and Fair Cape Dairies launch the first combibloc EcoPlus in the MEA region

(Dubai, 29 October 2019) SIG Combibloc Obeikan (SIG CBOB), one of the world’s leading systems and solutions provider for aseptic packaging and filling machines for food and beverages and Fair Cape Dairies, a Cape Town-based dairy farm announced today the launch of the first combibloc EcoPlus in the MEA region during the Gulfood Manufacturing Exhibition. The pack will be launched supported by a QR code campaign giving consumers the opportunity to win retail vouchers weekly and unlock promotion benefits.

combibloc EcoPlus from SIG Combibloc has a 28% reduced  CO2[1] footprint compared to a conventional 1-litre carton pack of the same format due to an innovative and unique structure for aseptic dairy cartons. The main component of combibloc EcoPlus, at more than 80 per cent, is cardboard, which is made from the bio-based raw material wood sourced from FSCTM-certified sustainable managed forests and other controlled sources.

Abdelghany Eladib, Chief Operating Officer, SIG CBOB, said: “With the first launch of combibloc EcoPlus in the MEA region, Fair Cape Dairies is taking a stand for the environment, and is leading the way in the African market as a company that acts sustainably and responsibly. Today, South African Eco-citizenship is a high priority driven by a rising demand for transparency and importance of sustaining the planet. The launch of the CO2-reduced combibloc EcoPlus carton pack is a good response to this increasing demand. We are confident that together with our partner, we are committed towards protecting the environment and fostering sustainability worldwide.”

According to Louis Loubser, Marketing Director of Fair Cape Dairies: “Fair Cape Dairies embraces the concept of environmental welfare. As a company, we have taken an integrated approach to carbon management and are always striving for a greener and more environmentally friendly approach to milk production. With the launch of the Fair Cape in combibloc EcoPlus long life milk pack with our partner, SIG Combibloc Obeikan, we further strengthen this commitment as we begin to offer a more sustainably produced long life milk offering. A focus on acting sustainably, and consistently trying to find new ways to “Do the Right Thing” is a fundamental part of our corporate principles.”


[1] Compared to the same standard format 1-litre pack from SIG. CO2 reduction based on product lifecycle from the production of the raw materials to the finished carton pack according to ifeu lifecycle assessment CB-100730 dated 30 July 2010. More information: https://www.sig.biz/en/packaging/beverage-packaging/combibloc-ecoplus-details.